27 November 2017

REN award honours three innovative works in the field of energy

The REN Award once again honoured the three most innovative master's theses in the field of Energy. Bruna Daniela Costa Tavares, a student from the Faculty of Engineering of University of Porto (FEUP), was the winner of the 2017 REN Award, with the thesis 'Sensory fusion applied to power system state estimation considering information theory concepts'.

The award ceremony for the REN Award took place on the 17th, in Lisbon, and was attended by the Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education, Manuel Heitor, and by the Secretary of State for Energy, Jorge Seguro, who opened the discussion on the topic of 'Evolution and disruption: what will transform the future of energy'. This debate included the participation of João Conceição, REN's COO, João Peças Lopes, professor at FEUP and chairman of the jury of the REN Award, and Ângelo Ramalho, CEO of Efacec.

The second prize of the REN Award was given to Rui Filipe Mirra dos Santos, from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), for the work entitled 'Nonlinear Economic Model Predictive Control for Energy Management of Smart Buildings'. The third place went to José Miguel Gomes Campos Costa, from FEUP, with the topic of 'Microgrid Reliability Assessment'. The jury also awarded two special mentions, to Ricardo Jorge de Lima Capão and Luís Acácio Mendes Marques, both students at FEUP.

Created in 1995, the REN Award is a prize for the best master's theses in the field of energy, written by students of engineering, economics, mathematics, physics, chemistry, information systems and computer science.

Winning theses in each of the 22 editions of the REN Award have been following the defining changes and developments that have shaped the energy sector, anticipating challenges, identifying problems, and putting forward innovative solutions.


Receive all the details of the operation,
trends and news we share
with all the energy.

Frequency *