08 June 2022

Continental Europe TSOs confirm the technical pre-conditions for the gradual opening of electricity trade with Ukraine

On 7 June, Continental Europe TSOs decided to address positively Ukrenergo‘s request and confirmed the key conditions that, once met, will enable a gradual opening of the electricity trade with Ukraine. Ukrenergo and the Continental Europe TSOs will work together to implement these conditions. The full implementation of these technical conditions is necessary to guarantee the security and stability of the extended power system.

The Continental Europe TSOs thank the European Commission and the Energy Community for their support and they again commended Ukrenergo for maintaining and restoring the Ukrainian transmission power system, despite the war, while advancing the conditions needed for commercial exchanges.

Together with the welcoming of Ukrenergo as an Observer Member in ENTSO-E and the practical support provided by European TSOs for network reconstruction, the approach to a gradual resuming of commercial exchanges of electricity is another important gesture of solidarity and strengthens the cooperation between European TSOs and Ukraine.

About the emergency synchronisation
Following an urgent request by Ukrenergo and Moldova for emergency synchronisation, the TSOs of Continental Europe agreed to start on 16 March 2022 the emergency trial synchronisation of the Continental European power system with the power systems of Ukraine and Moldova. This acceleration of the Synchronisation Project with Ukraine and Moldova ongoing since 2017 has been possible notably by the adoption of risk mitigation measures. These included the limitation of the power flows between Ukraine and the neighbouring countries by preventing electricity trade via the interconnections with Ukraine.

End of April, Ukrenergo sent a request to Continental Europe TSOs to allow electricity trade between Ukraine and neighbouring power systems. On 7 June, Continental TSOs decided to address positively this request and confirmed the key conditions to be fulfilled for the gradual opening of commercial electricity exchanges on the interconnections with Ukraine.

About the Continental Europe Synchronous Area
Transmission system operators (TSOs) in the Continental Europe Synchronous Area have the responsibility to maintain the electric frequency at 50 Hz in order to ensure the stability of the interconnected system. This means energy resources and consumption always must be balanced across the synchronous area. 

The Continental Europe area gathers the following countries: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark (West), France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo*, Luxemburg, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, and Turkey.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, is the association for the cooperation of the European transmission system operators (TSOs). The 39 member TSOs, representing 35 countries, are responsible for the secure and coordinated operation of Europe's electricity system, the largest interconnected electrical grid in the world. In addition to its core, historical role in technical cooperation, ENTSO-E is also the common voice of TSOs.


Receive all the details of the operation,
trends and news we share
with all the energy.

Frequency *